One in five people think goat's cheese and eggs are vegan, says study
When it comes to vegan food, you can forgive the general public from being a bit confused from time to time.
Don't know what seitan is? Cool, neither do most of us.
Never tried deep fried tofu before? You're not alone.
Think that goat's cheese and eggs don't actually come from animals despite them clearly coming from animals? Sorry mate, you're actually on your own with that one.
Except, maybe, you're not, because according to a new study, one fifth of people do actually believe the above to be true.
Recently, meal kit company HelloFresh asked 2,004 UK adults some questions about food, where it comes from, and the variations of diets that people are now on.
And while the majority of them did indeed understand that goat's cheese comes from a goat (!), a considerable number of them didn't.
20 percent of those surveyed said that they thought eggs were vegan, with 22 percent saying the same amount about goat's cheese.
The survey also asked respondents some questions about where they thought their food was coming from.
It showed that 11 percent of people presumed that tea was grown in the UK, with one fifth (22 percent) thinking that veal actually comes from a deer - not a calf.
10 percent of people also thought that tofu was a type of mushroom, which definitely isn't as concerning as thinking that goat's cheese is vegan, but sure look.
Andre Dupin, head chef at HelloFresh UK, said that he was fairly surprised by the amount of people who admitted to being unable to cook basic meals too.
Around half of those surveyed said that they had struggled to make standard enough dishes like avocado on toast, or a curry.
“It's surprising to see that some of the most popular foods, as well as things that Brits have always held dear to them, like chicken tikka masala, are difficult for people to cook from scratch," he said.
"We found that 61 percent of Brits didn’t know how to cook this national favourite.”
Not sure if us Irish would fare any better, mate.