Snapchat's latest update is causing security concerns 5 years ago

Snapchat's latest update is causing security concerns

Snap Map is the latest update from Snapchat and it has already raised security concerns.

By using the function, publicly posted images are then searchable via the interactive map. For example, people could search for places such as schools and see any videos and pictures that have been shared in that location.

Advertisement

Members who have opted to share their location can also be seen on the map by those they've added as 'friends'.

The app has over 55 million daily users in Europe - 10 million of which are in the UK.

As stated on their company blog, Snapchat believes that:

"They've built a whole new way to explore the world.  See what's happening, find your friends, and get inspired to go on an adventure! It's easy to get started — just pinch to zoom out and view the Map! You decide if you want to share your location with friends, or simply keep it to yourself with Ghost Mode. If your friends are sharing their location with you, their Actionmoji will appear on the Map. Actionmojis only update when you open Snapchat."

Advertisement

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvl82FfnUvw

Speaking with the BBC, the social media giant has insisted that location sharing was an opt-in feature. They also stated that "location information was necessary to allow friends to use the service to meet, for example at a restaurant or crowded festival, and said points of interest on the map, such as schools, were provided by third-party mapping service Mapbox."

If you're looking to turn the Snap Map function off, here are the required steps:

  • When in photo-taking mode, pinch the screen to open Snap Map
  • Touch the settings cog in the top right corner of the screen
  • Tap "Ghost Mode" to switch off location sharing
  • Photos and videos posted to Snapchat's public 'Our Story' will still be discoverable on the map
Advertisement