Snow weather warning now in place for eight counties 1 year ago

Snow weather warning now in place for eight counties

Bundle up and be careful on the roads.

Met Éireann has issued a new Status Yellow snow and ice warning for eight counties in Ireland. The warning was issued on Tuesday morning and is valid from 8am on Tuesday until 6pm on Wednesday evening. It affects Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wicklow, Westmeath, Meath, Cavan and Monaghan.


Met Éireann says, "Snow accumulations of between two and five centimetres are possible in some areas."


In a tweet on Tuesday morning Met Éireann said: "Very cold this morning with icy patches and scattered showers of sleet or snow. Today will be blustery with wintry showers giving some accumulations in places, with occasional bright spells. Highs of 1 to 3 degrees."

The snow that will fall today will likely stay as the temperatures are so low, so we may be looking at a decent amount of snow for the week.


Met Éireann forecaster Linda Hughes told The Irish Times; “You could see Dublin get up to 3cm on Tuesday. You could be seeing snow on the ground. We are looking for proper accumulations on Thursday. We are looking at 5cm on Thursday widely. We should be seeing lying snow on Thursday."

“At the moment the south and southeast are looking at the highest accumulations. I expect that to change quite a lot in the coming days.”

In parts of the UK severe weather warnings have been issued which are affecting travel. They have also had to close coronavirus vaccination centres and schools.