Met Éireann issue thunderstorm warning for 10 counties 2 months ago

Met Éireann issue thunderstorm warning for 10 counties

The warning was issued this afternoon.

Met Éireann has issued a thunderstorm warning for 10 counties today.


A status yellow thunderstorm warning has been issued for Cavan, Monaghan, Longford, Louth, Meath, Westmeath, Offaly, Leitrim, Roscommon and Galway from this afternoon to tonight.

The warning is in place from 3.23pm today until 10pm tonight. Met Éireann has also warning of localised flooding and hazardous driving conditions in some parts of the country.

A separate warning has also been issued by the UK Met Office for Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Tyrone, and Derry.

Weather conditions will, however, hopefully improve towards the middle of the week.

Met Eireann said: "Tuesday will be largely dry day for many, with just a few light showers about, mainly in the west. It will be a rather cloudy day overall, with the best of the sunny breaks occurring in the morning or early afternoon.

"Brighter, clearer and sunnier conditions with just isolated showers will develop in Atlantic counties by late morning [Wednesday], however, before gradually extending elsewhere through the rest of the day. Breezy at first with moderate to fresh and gusty south-easterly winds, but winds will veer to a lighter southwest as the rain clears through."