PlayXPlay's Niamh McEvoy won an All Star award, and her mum collected it for her 3 years ago

PlayXPlay's Niamh McEvoy won an All Star award, and her mum collected it for her

Sure we always knew she was a star.

Huge congratulations are due to Dublin footballer Niamh McEvoy, who was awarded a 2019 All Star. The ceremony for the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football All Stars took place at the Citywest hotel at the weekend, with guests enjoying live entertainment from the likes of Lisa McHugh and a banquet in association with Lidl.


Niamh, who is a regular contributor to PlayXPlay – the groundbreaking women's sports show from Her and SportsJOE – was awarded a place on the All Star team for the first time. However, the Sylvester's woman is currently on the other side of the world, having joined the Melbourne Demons for this AWFL season.

And so, it was her proud mum, Joan, who collected the trophy on her behalf on the night (which brought a little tear to our soppy eyes).

Joan McEvoy collects the All Star award on behalf of her daughter, Niamh. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile


Niamh's Dublin team-mates were well represented on the night, with the All-Ireland champions walking away with seven awards.

Among the winners was Sinéad Goldrick, who is also in Australia spending the GAA off-season with the Melbourne Demons. It was Sinéad's seventh win at the award in eight years – making her a total legend in our books.

Another Dublin star, Siobhán McGrath, won her fourth award as well as being named as the 2019 TG4 Senior Players' Player of the Year.


Dublin footballers, from left, Sinéad Aherne, Éabha Rutledge, Niamh Collins, Aoife Kane, Ciara Trant, Martha Byrne, Siobhán McGrath, Lauren Magee, Olwen Carey, and Lyndsey Davey, during the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football All Stars Awards banquet. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Meanwhile, Galway had four representatives on the All Star team, including twin sisters Louise and Nicola Ward. Melissa Duggan and Orla Finn took home awards for Cork, while goalkeeper Monica McGuirk of Meath and forward Rachel Kearns of Mayo were also honoured.

Congratulations to all of the winners. Niamh, if you need someone to stand in for you again next year, we'll have our dresses at the ready!

The full line up of the 2019 TG4 All Star team is: 


Monica McGuirk, Meath

Sinéad Burke, Galway

Niamh Collins, Dublin

Melissa Duggan, Cork

Nicola Ward, Galway


Sinéad Goldrick, Dublin

Olwen Carey, Dublin

Louise Ward, Galway

Siobhán McGrath, Dublin

Carla Rowe, Dublin

Niamh McEvoy, Dublin

Lyndsey Davey, Dublin

Tracey Leonard, Galway

Rachel Kearns, Mayo

Orla Finn, Cork

The TG4 All Star team, back row, from left, Melissa Duggan of Cork, Niamh Collins of Dublin, Carla Rowe of Dublin, Lyndsey Davey of Dublin, Tracey Leonard of Galway, Rachel Kearns of Mayo, Orla Finn of Cork, Siobhan McGrath of Dublin and Nicola Ward of Galway, with front, from left, Monica McGuirk of Meath, Sinead Burke of Galway, Ard Stiúrthóir TG4 Alan Esslemont, LGFA President Marie Hickey, MD Lidl Ireland JP Scally, LGFA CEO Helen O'Rourke, Olwen Carey of Dublin and Louise Ward of Galway, during the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football All Stars Awards banquet, in association with Lidl, at the Citywest Hotel in Saggart, Dublin. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile