Twitter to remove inactive accounts and free up usernames in December
If you don't sign into your Twitter by December, your account will be dust.
Twitter has announced that it will remove inactive accounts if they are not signed in to by December.
The social media giant said that by removing inactive accounts, a number of usernames will thus become freed up.
How we could have done with this when we picked our MSN usernames as teenagers...
Twitter hasn’t yet said exactly when recouped usernames will be made available to existing users, but they did shed some light on the situation in an e-mail to The Verge.
"As part of our commitment to serve the public conversation, we’re working to clean up inactive accounts to present more accurate, credible information people can trust across Twitter.
"Part of this effort is encouraging people to actively log-in and use Twitter when they register an account, as stated in our inactive accounts policy.
"We have begun proactive outreach to many accounts who have not logged into Twitter in over six months to inform them that their accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity."
So if you're not the most active Twitter user, but you don't want to lose your account either, make sure you login before December is over.
Certain social media users have expressed concern at this news, as people often return to the Twitter timeline of a deceased loved one to remember things about them.
Twitter has said that they "do not currently have a way to memorialise someone’s Twitter account once they have passed on, but the team is thinking about ways to do this."