Whatsapp users are being banned and their history is being deleted
Well, this is a random one.
Some Whatsapp users might find themselves banned from the app and their chat history being deleted.
It comes after the app made a blog post about 'fake' WhatsApps doing the rounds. If a user is using a fake app, they could end up being locked out of the real app.
WhatsApp wrote in an FAQ: "If you received an in-app message stating your account is 'temporarily banned' this means that you’re likely using an unsupported version of WhatsApp instead of the official WhatsApp app.
"If this is the case, you must download the official app to continue using WhatsApp.
"Unsupported apps, such as WhatsApp Plus and GB WhatsApp, are altered versions of WhatsApp. These unofficial apps are developed by third parties and violate our Terms of Service. WhatsApp doesn’t support these third-party apps because we can’t validate their security practices. To work out what app you’re using, press ‘more options’ followed by ‘settings’, ‘help’ then ‘app info’," the blog continued.
If you are banned from the app, it should only be temporary and a countdown timer will appear on your screen.
When this times out, you will have to download the original WhatsApp and continue from there. Just make sure your chat history is backed up in case it might be deleted.