Vegans rejoice! The vast majority of Guinness is now safe for you to drink 3 years ago

Vegans rejoice! The vast majority of Guinness is now safe for you to drink

Something tells us this news would not have much impact on Paddy Losty and his fellow pintmen.

We may be making assumptions here, but Paddy does not look like an advocate of the vegan lifestyle.

Pintman

But Diageo, the company that brews Guinness, has great news for Vegans who do like a pint of plain (or think they might like a pint of plain).

The brewing giant confirmed to The London Times (€) that they have phased out the use of fish parts in the production of the iconic stout.

Guinness no longer use isinglass, a product made from fish bladders, to extract extra yeast from the drink.

The new process will HAVE NO IMPACT ON TASTE.

The change in the brewing process was two years coming, after Guinness initially announced the change back in 2015.

However, if you are planning some vegan "prinks" (pre-drinks) it is important to note that it is only keg Guinness that is now brewed without isinglass - bottles and cans are still brewed using fish bladder and are therefore not suitable for vegans.

Diageo confirmed the change and outlined the timescale for the total removal of animal products from the brewing process.

"Our new filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness.

"All Guinness Draught in keg format is brewed without using isinglass. Full distribution of bottle and can formats will be in place by the end of 2017, so until then, our advice to vegans is to consume the product from the keg format only for now."

We'll drink to that.