Met Éireann have issued two weather warnings for 21 counties 2 years ago

Met Éireann have issued two weather warnings for 21 counties

Time to bundle up. Again.

Met Éireann have just issued two status yellow weather warnings for 21 counties this week.

The first caution comes into effect at 9pm on Monday night, and will end at 3am on Wednesday January 17.

The yellow wind warning effects Donegal, Galway, Mayo, Sligo, Clare, Cork, Kerry and Limerick.

Forecasters say that westerly winds will reach average speeds of 50 to 65 km/h with gusts of 90 to 110 km/h at times.

Winds will be moderate during a period of time on Wednesday, with further wind warnings possible for Wednesday night.

Meanwhile, the second warning has been issued for snow-ice in Connacht, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath and Meath.

The warning, which begins on 6am on Tuesday, ends on Wednesday morning at 3am.

Met Éireann forecasters say that there will be widespread wintry showers, which may lead to snow accumulations.

There will be widespread heavy wintry showers with the risk of hail and thunder on Tuesday.

Some accumulations of snow may also occur, especially in the northern half of the country and over higher ground.

It will be very windy with strong to gale force and gusty westerly winds, and feel bitterly cold as temperatures will be only zero to 4 degrees.