Facebook's plans to add a new 'unsend' feature in a bid to keep users on side 1 year ago

Facebook's plans to add a new 'unsend' feature in a bid to keep users on side

Hmm...

Facebook has plans to introduce a new 'unsend' feature in a bid to keep users on side.

Following the Cambridge Analytica scandal which saw thousands upon thousands of people's personal data shared with a third party, support for the tech giant has taken a substantial hit.

Once the breach became public knowledge, considerable numbers of people took to other social media platforms to announce that they were deleting their Facebook accounts.

Website founder Mark Zuckerberg soon released a statement apologising for the breach, letting users know exactly how to find out what information Facebook had about them.

However, it was also discovered that Facebook messages from Zuckerberg to other people were being mysteriously deleted from the site.

Or, in other words, unsent.

This feature is currently not available on Facebook at the moment - once you send something, it's sent - but the company has now announced that they have plans to introduce the unsend function across the board.

Convenient.

They told TechCrunch: 

"We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages.

"We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not.”

Facebook said that they had been deleting Zuckerberg's and other executive's messages due to a breach that occurred in 2014.