Netflix has responded to rumours that users will no longer be able to share accounts 5 months ago

Netflix has responded to rumours that users will no longer be able to share accounts

Phew.

Chances are you share a Netflix account with someone. It could be family, friends, your significant other or just about anyone in between.

It's easy. It's handy. It's there when you need it... but it might not be there for much longer.

Well, the Internet basically lost it during the week when rumours started spreading.

It was reported that the company will clamp down on people that share accounts, and we all started to sweat in fairness.

Netflix have put those rumours to bed, stating:

"We are not working with/partnering with Synamedia."

"Netflix terms of use clarifies that Netflix login information is intended for members of the same household. Netflix allows its members to set up to five profiles on each account and limits usage of devices that can access Netflix at the same time by plans. For instance, the €13.99 plan allows 4 devices to stream at the same time; the €10.99 plan allows two, and €7.99 allows one."

netflix

"So there are natural guardrails in place that limit account sharing."

With regards to the terms of use:

"The service and any content viewed through the service are for your personal and non-commercial use only and may not be shared with individuals beyond your household."

"During your membership we grant you a limited, non-exclusive, non-transferable right to access the Netflix service and view Netflix content. Except for the foregoing, no right, title or interest shall be transferred to you. You agree not to use the service for public performances."

As you were people. We'll all sleep soundly tonight.