Paul Mescal didn't win an Emmy and that's okay 5 months ago

Paul Mescal didn't win an Emmy and that's okay

He was ROBBED.

Paul Mescal didn't win an Emmy last night and that's okay. He's still an exceptionally talented actor who has made this nation the proudest it's been since Westlife broke Asia.


Or Italia 90. One of them.

The Kildare actor was nominated for an Emmy earlier this summer following his incredible and deeply affecting performance as Connell in Normal People.

The role required pain, it required tears, it required an ability to change the way young women in this country view GAA shorts. Mescal provided all that, and more.

He did not win the Emmy but he won our hearts. And in the current climate of this God forsaken world, that's all we can really ask for.

The virtual Emmys took place last night, and with Normal People arriving in with four nomination it looked likely that the BBC / Hulu drama surely wouldn't leave empty handed.

Alas, it was not meant to be as Mescal lost out to Mark Ruffalo and Lenny Abrahamson missed out on the Best Director award.


Elsewhere, Sally Rooney didn't emerge victorious in the Outstanding Writing for a Limited Series category, nor did Louise Kiely for Outstanding Casting.

But sure listen, it's alright lads, Normal People was robbed. We get that. It could be a bitterly sad day mired with disappointment and rage, but at least we still got the nods.

At least the show got some of the recognition it deserved. At least Paul Mescal still got to dress up in Louis Vuitton on his front hall stairs.

Aside from the above, last night's Emmy's featured a fantastic seven primetime award win from Schitt's Creek, with Succession and Watchmen being the other big winners of the evening.

Zendaya also became the youngest person to win the award for Lead Actress in a Drama Series, at 24 years old.


The event, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, took place in a largely empty LA venue with the majority of winners accepting their awards from home.

It was the Pandemmys, if you will.

You can find the full list of winners here.